Rushdie wins Best of Booker for 2nd time

Salman Rushdie's Midnight's Children has emerged as the winner of the Best of the Booker Prize for the 2nd time on Booker's 40th anniversary. Midnight's Children originally got the Booker in 1981, and was then selected as the Best of the Booker in 1993. This time, 6 books were short-listed for the prize:

Pat Barker's The Ghost Road
Peter Carey's Oscar and Lucinda
JM Coetzee's Disgrace
JG Farrell's The Siege of Krishnapur
Nadine Gordimer's The Conservationist
Salman Rushdie's Midnight's Children

The winner was selected by a public poll, with Midnight's Children coming out as the winner, having received 36% of the votes.

For details, see: